Frequently Asked Questions

How does the MiF program differ from the MBA and MA/MSc?
MiF combines the best parts of both programs: advanced curriculum stressing the quantitative approach to modeling financial markets (as in MA/MSc) and specific learning process typical for the MBA programs (focus on the applied perspective, case studies and teamwork).

Is the New Economic School experienced in teaching executive education courses?
The executive education courses in finance have been taught by the faculty of the New Economic School since 2002. Among others, these courses include financial modeling, capital budgeting, econometrics, and risk management. Courses taught regularly are described on the NES website.

Will the skills acquired on the MiF be useful in real life situations?
One should have up-to-date tools and holistic view of the business processes to cope with the increasing complexity and speed of globalization in the world of finance. The goal of the program is to apply the modern finance theory to the real-world situations. This is why substantial part of the coursework is based on the real data and cases taken from recent business practice in Russia and abroad. This knowledge will widen future perspectives of MiF students and enhance their career opportunities.

How much time is required to study on the MiF?
The students are expected to attend 9 hours of classes each week. At least as much time is necessary to spend on self-study (home readings, coursework, and exam preparation).

Should I tell my employer about studying on the MiF?
The support of your employer is crucial. The workload should allow you to devote at least 18 hours per week to studies.

How does the program interact with the business community?
The representatives of the leading companies are frequently invited to the guest lectures at MiF. Several courses are taught by people who received a Western degree and then chose to pursue a business career. As a part of the program, the students have a chance to visit the Moscow offices of leading financial companies. These visits help them to accomplish individual projects in cooperation with a company, which could be either their current employer or any other company, which is a partner of the school.

Which work experience does the MiF require from the applicants?
All applicants are required to have at least two years of full-time work experience, although there may be a few exceptions. We believe that only in this case studying in the program will be the most efficient for you. In addition, relevant experience in the area of your professional interests may be very beneficial and helpful for other students.

What level of math and English language proficiency is required for the successful completion of the program?
Modern financial models rely upon the fundamentals of mathematical analysis, linear algebra, probability theory and statistics. This knowledge may be brought up to date in the intensive refresher courses prior to the start of the program. Since most of the course materials (textbooks, cases, home exercises, and exams) and part of the instruction are in English, students should be able to speak and write in English. A high proficiency in math and English is not an absolute requirement, what is more important is your desire to further develop these abilities in the course of your studies.

What university degree is required to enter the MiF?
Above all, MiF targets graduates of economics departments interested in up-to-date knowledge of the modern financial models and graduates of math and physics departments willing to expand their understanding of financial markets. Graduates of other schools and departments are also encouraged to apply to the MiF; however, they should be ready to invest more of their time and effort to catch up with others.

What are the key criteria for the admission decision?
The Admissions Committee evaluates your ability to successfully accomplish the program’s curriculum, the extent to which you are able to contribute to sharing knowledge and experience in the area of your professional interests, and the benefits the program would provide to meet your career objectives.

May I apply for financial aid?
At our program, limited financial aid is available for distinguished students. The Admissions Committee awards grants partly covering the tuition based on students’ merit and potential.

What diploma will MiF graduates receive?
The program graduates will receive a NES Masters in Finance diploma.

What is better: to recieve a MiF diploma or a CFA certificate?

CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) certifies that one possesses a certain level of knowledge in the areas of economics, financial accounting, portfolio management, quantitative analysis, security analysis, and ethics and is widely recognized in the finance industry. The MiF program gives an opportunity to learn and gain deeper knowledge in a greater number of finance-related areas. The MiF curriculum covers most of the CFA requirements. On May 10, 2012 Masters in Finance program was accepted into the University Recognition Program of the CFA Institute. Thereby is confirmed that the program incorporates at least 70% of the CFA Program Candidate Body and provides students with a solid grounding for the CFA exams.

Часто задаваемые вопросы

В чем отличие программы MiF от MBA и MA/MSc?
MiF сочетает лучшие стороны обоих типов программ: продвинутый учебный план, делающий упор на количественный подход к моделированию финансовых рынков (как в MA/MSc), и организацию учебного процесса как в MBA (ориентированность на бизнес-приложения, использование кейсов и работу в группах).

Какой опыт преподавания бизнес-курсов имеется у РЭШ?
Курсы по финансам в рамках корпоративного обучения читаются профессорами Российской экономической школы с 2002 г. В их числе были курсы по финансовому моделированию, оценке проектов, эконометрическим методам и риск-менеджменту. Курсы, предлагающиеся на регулярной основе, представлены на сайте РЭШ.

Насколько пригодятся в реальной жизни знания, полученные в MiF?
Для того, чтобы справиться с растущей сложностью и глобализацией бизнес-процессов в мире финансов, необходимо обладать современным инструментарием и целостным видением. Цель программы — приложение современной теории для решения практических задач. Поэтому в процессе обучения будет сделан акцент на работу с кейсами — как из международной, так и из российской практики — и работу с реальными данными. Эти знания позволят расширить ваш потенциал и сделать задел для успешной карьеры на много лет вперед.

Сколько времени нужно будет тратить на обучение?
Учебные занятия займут 9 часов в неделю (3 сессии по 4 академических часа). Примерно столько же времени уйдет на самостоятельную работу: чтение учебных материалов, решение домашних заданий и подготовку к экзаменам.

Нужно ли ставить в известность работодателя об учебе на MiF?
Поддержка Вашего работодателя абсолютно необходима. Как минимум, у Вас должна быть ограничена нагрузка по основному месту работы, чтобы Вы могли посвящать учебе 18 часов в неделю.

Как будет организовано взаимодействие с бизнес-сообществом?
Представители бизнес-сообщества будут приглашаться в качестве экспертов на лекции, соответствующие их профессиональным интересам. Многие курсы будут читаться людьми, получившими западное образование и делающими карьеру в бизнесе. Также будут организованы ознакомительные поездки в московские офисы ведущих финансовых компаний. Индивидуальный проект будет выполняться во взаимодействии с Вашей или (по Вашему желанию) другой компанией, сотрудничающей с РЭШ.

Какой опыт работы требуется от абитуриентов?
Минимум 2 года работы full-time, хотя в определенных случаях этот порог может быть снижен. Мы полагаем, что только в этом случае Вы сможете получить наибольший эффект от обучения на программе MiF. Также наличие ценного опыта в области Ваших профессиональных интересов помогает сделать программу более интересной и полезной для остальных студентов.

Какой уровень знания математики и английского языка требуется для успешного освоения программы?
Современные финансовые модели требуют знания основ математического анализа, линейной алгебры и теории вероятности. Эти знания можно обновить в рамках вводных курсов в начале программы. Поскольку все учебные материалы, а также часть лекций будут на английском языке, то необходимо хорошо владеть устным и письменным английским языком. Идеальное знание математики и английского не является необходимым условием для поступления, главное — намерение совершенствовать их в ходе обучения.

Какое высшее образование необходимо иметь для поступления?
В первую очередь программа ориентирована на выпускников экономических факультетов, которые заинтересованы в знании современных финансовых моделей, и выпускников математических и физических факультетов, которые хотели бы получить качественное понимание принципов работы финансовых рынков. Выпускники других факультетов также приветствуются, однако они должны быть готовы инвестировать больше времени и усилий для того, чтобы получить недостающие знания.

Какие критерии являются главными при отборе студентов?
Приемная комиссия будет оценивать, насколько Вы способны справиться с учебным планом, какой вклад в процесс обмена знаниями в области своих профессиональных интересов Вы можете сделать, а также насколько программа MiF поможет реализовать Ваши карьерные цели.

Можно ли получить финансовую поддержку?
Приемная комиссия будет принимать решение о выдаче ограниченного количества грантов, частично покрывающих стоимость обучения, руководствуясь исключительно интеллектуальным потенциалом абитуриентов.

Какой диплом получат выпускники программы?
Диплом "Мастер финансов" РЭШ на русском и английском языках. 

Что лучше: обучение на программе "Мастер финансов" или получение сертификата CFA?
Сертификат CFA свидетельствует об обладании определенным набором знаний в области финансов и является общепризнанным стандартом в финансовой индустрии. Программа MiF дает возможность получить знания, причем в большем количестве областей и на более глубоком уровне. Требования CFA учитывались при формировании учебного плана нашей программы. 10 мая 2012 г. программа "Мастер финансов" стала участником University Recognition Program of the CFA Institute. Тем самым признается, что программа покрывает не менее 70% программы CFA и позволяет студентам хорошо готовиться к сдаче экзаменов CFA.